Tour de Bedroom

27 Sep

If I had to name a favorite room in my house it would be the tiny little bathroom that Jason and I so lovingly renovated this spring. It is the first room in my house that I feel like truly represents my style and I love love love it! On the other end of the spectrum we have my bedroom. If I had to think of one word to describe my bedroom it would be, BLAH! It is the most overlooked and under cleaned room in my house as well. On any given day it is usually a disaster zone of clothes that I am too lazy busy to hang up and  various other items that always seem to migrate to the bedroom.I don’t think words do it justice so let’s begin the tour, shall we?

This is the view as you enter my bedroom. Jason had this bed before we moved in so it moved in with us and we will probably use it forever. Its not the style I would have chose but it is a pretty bed and I am thankful to have such nice furniture. The cedar chest in front of the bed was my grandma’s and her grandma’s before that. It didn’t fit in my mom’s house so I have it in my bedroom and I absolutely love it. When we moved in we had no idea where we were going to fit out bed. Every wall has a door, a window, or a fireplace. Behind the curtains is an awesome bay window which I was so sad to cover up. But the bed literally would not fit anywhere else so there you have it.

I am not a fan of our bedding but I have no idea what I am a fan of. Solids, prints, stripes, floral?? There are SO many decisions!! I am having commitment issues and have no idea what to get.

Our night stands match the rest of the furniture. I got the lamps as a set from Wal-mart about 3 years ago when we moved in. The framed picture was a picture frame from goodwill and a picture printed from vintage printables. I just found the frames a few weeks ago and thought they would look nice. However I got it home, hung one up, and hated it. So I didn’t even bother hanging up the second one (or taking down the first one for that matter!). My plan is to have two of our wedding pictures framed in new, bigger frames, and hang them on each side of the bed.

Our house was built in the late 1800’s so it still has original fireplaces and baseboard. If only it still worked and wasn’t cemented over! I’m not even sure what is going on with my mantel. It is more like a disaster zone.

Because our ceilings are so high I had a hard time finding floor length curtains. My solution was so buy the longest curtains I could find, draw inspiration from the nester, and make mistreatments! I love how they turned out!

Mistreatments  look fabulous, cost about a fraction of what real custom curtains cost, and take no time at all to make.

No one will know your curtains dirty little secret unless they look at the backside of your curtain. But when was the last time someone came into your house and looked at the backside of your anything? I thought so.

Warning: it’s about to get ugly! This side of my room is very neglected!

Our dog’s crate is in our bedroom. You would think that we have 2 huge dogs by the size of their crate but in reality we have 2 small 10 lb dogs. I love our chest drawers but I have no clue what to put on top of them (besides clothes!) The lamp seems out of place because its so high and everything else just seems like clutter (unlike the clothes?).

Aside from all of the craziness of my bedroom and the things that I don’t like, it does have a lot of really pretty features that I do love.

Hopefully I will get some inspiration from everyone’s bedroom and I can do a bedroom renovation! If you haven’t already been there head over to Kelly’s Korner to check out all the fabulous bedrooms on her tour!

2 Responses to “Tour de Bedroom”

  1. Lisa September 28, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Your bedroom has some gorgeous details and a lot of potential! Our bedroom also needs a lot of help, but I was eager to start working on rooms that get seen by people visiting before our bedrooms. But you spend so much time in your bedroom that you want it to be comfortable and pretty, right?

  2. Justine October 2, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    I think you can pick out a nice bedding with some pattern, maybe not floral (because I am not sure how your husband will feel about it) with some tan/gold tones.

    Here are a few of my quick favorites I just saw :
    http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=290252&CategoryID=7502

    http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=162962&CategoryID=17954

    http://www1.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=490142&CategoryID=17954

    Just Better Together

Leave a Reply

