Fall Mantel

29 Sep

The Nester, who is pretty much my design idol, is having a fall mantel link up party. Our house is really old and still has one original fireplace in our bedroom, which sadly does not work. It has been the bane of my decor existence since we moved in but I have never really known where to start as far as fixing it and I always thought we would be moving in 2-3 years. Well this is year 3 of us living here and since I just started my masters program I’m pretty sure we will be here another 2 years. So that mixed with the change in season and me wanting everything to be pretty I have decided to do something about my mantel.

This is the before picture from a few days ago that I posted for my bedroom tour-

It was in a sad state of affairs. I had hardly put any effort into decorating it, unless some old dried out ferns count as effort and decor.

Here is what I have done so far to improve it-

It’s still a work in progress but a definite improvement over just a few days ago. I have been debating about what to do with the open space that was closed off. I went back and forth on painting it black to blend in or adding some paper over it. Today I remembered that I had some wrapping paper left over that was a nice neutral color and a pretty damask print so I cut it out and tapped it up and I love it! Now that I know I want it to stay I need to figure out a more permanent solution. Any suggestions? I’m thinking mod podge or wall paper paste. I have never worked with either before though so I could use all the advice I can get!

My next goal is to get Jason to lay some tile on the hearth. I don’t think it would be very expensive if we got some nice neutral tile on clearance. I think it would make a world of difference though! If that falls through I think I might just paint it. If I end up painting it though should I go with black to blend in with the fireplace surround or a nice neutral beige so it doesn’t stand out too much? Decisions decisions!

Here are some details of the mantel-

Don’t mind the Capone book, I found it on our book shelf and loved the colors! Everything on the mantel is things I had around the house.

I made this candle by wrapping some twine around a candle I already had. I love twine and use for sooo many things! I probably go through a spool every couple months just on decorating, gift wrapping, and just everyday things.

Thanks for stopping by and looking at my work in progress! Check out the Nester’s mantel party to see some other fabulous mantel’s!

2 Responses to “Fall Mantel”

  1. Laurel September 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    I love the chunkiness of this mantle – and you can’t go wrong with books and candles! Nice job!

  2. Justine October 2, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    It’s so weird that your fireplace is covered with concrete! Have you ever thought about digging it out?! 🙂 And just decorate it?

    With that picture frame, people make earring/necklace holders if you’re a fan of those type of things 🙂

    Just Better Together

Leave a Reply

